“I need glasses!”

14 Mar

We moved here in 2006 and we have driven past the “Ground Round” restaurant hundreds of times and were always curious as to what in the world the “Ground Round” was… it doesn’t exactly sound very appetizing… but today we decided to give it a try.  The food was actually pretty good.  The menu is all over the place though, a little confusing, food doesn’t look too good on the menu, and they serve you warm (border-lining cold) popcorn as soon as you sit down.   Not peanuts, chips, or bread….  popcorn.   As soon as the waitress left our table, Amanda and I simultaneously said, “that’s interesting.”   🙂   The food was good though.    I got the broccoli cheese soup and salad.

The highlight for me however was not the food, but a little comment my little girl said.  Zoe was looking around the restaurant and out of nowhere she says, “I need glasses…”   Glasses? She must have heard me say that recently.  Even so, it was hilarious to hear my 2 year old say that!  I doubt she needs glasses, but I definitely do need glasses. I always notice it when I’m at church and I’m trying to read the words on the screen during worship and I can’t.   Zoe broke my glasses about 6 months ago and I still haven’t ordered new ones.. I need someone to measure the distance between my pupils.  As soon as I get that measurement, Zenni Optical here I come!

After lunch we went to Barnes & Noble, then to Falls Park.   All I can say is.. WOW.  I have never seen the park so flooded before, and the waterfalls were flowing faster than I’ve ever seen! It was amazing.  If only the water wasn’t completely brown and the sky gray… it didn’t exactly make for good pictures!

One of my best friends from CA came to visit us this past weekend! Amanda arrived on Thursday morning and she left at about 5pm today.  It was so nice to have her visit, even if it was just for 4 days!  She came to visit for Zoe’s birthday.  I’ll write more about Zoe’s birthday and birthday party in another post.  For now, it is almost 2 am.  I need to sleep!

2 Responses to ““I need glasses!””

  1. tammie March 15, 2010 at 6:06 am #

    i’ve not heard of the restaurant, but i used to hear “ground round steak” as a reference to hamburgers. . .

    i’m glad the food was good.

  2. Kari March 15, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    I can measure your eyes for you sometime. 🙂 It’s getting warmer now, so I can just walk down there and do it for you. Do you have a mm ruler? We have a cm one and I got Joshua to convert it for me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

