Women of Faith, Here We Come!

15 Oct
Zoe, Shaina, Kjersten, Anna, and Christa - Anna's Birthday Sept 2009

Zoe, Shaina, Kjersten, Anna, and Christa - Anna's Birthday Sept 2009

Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.  Romans 12:2

Tomorrow my friend Anna and I embark on a small road trip from Sioux Falls, SD to Minneapolis/St. Paul, MN where we will be attending the Women of Faith Conference.

This will be my first time leaving my daughter and husband for a weekend.   I’m a little nervous about leaving my family for a weekend and going to a conference that on the surface doesn’t seem to put much emphasis on glorifying God.  I know that the Lord has me going to this conference for a purpose though.   Perhaps the videos and website don’t do the conference justice and it truly is a God-centered conference and I will learn more about God through this experience.   That is my hope.  My fear is that the conference is about “finding myself” and building my “self-esteem”… I’m afraid it will be about “refreshing my soul”, everything geared toward my emotions.  I’m worried it will be a lot of “fluff” and nothing with substance.  Quite frankly, I want less of me and more of Him, the more time spent glorifying the Lord Jesus Christ the better!  Only He is worthy of our praise! Without Him, there is nothing good about me.  (Psalm 16:2)

Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves. Philippians 2:3

For by the grace given me I say to every one of you: Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the measure of faith God has given you. – Romans 12:3

What I am excited about is spending time Anna! We haven’t really hung out much without our husbands and daughters around so this will be a real blessing!  2 days of fun-filled girl time!  Something I haven’t had much of in the past 3 years, so I’m thrilled for this time of fellowship.

Leave a Reply

