Rejoicing in God’s Provision!

11 Sep

“Cast your cares on the LORD and he will sustain you; he will never let the righteous fall” (Psalm 55:22)

“Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you” (1 Thessalonians 5:16-18)

I am going to tell you a story. In this story you will see God’s incredible willingness to provide! I am so stunned by the generosity of so many people in Sioux Falls, and I’m so grateful to God for his answer to my prayers from Wednesday.


Yesterday I was supposed to attend Bible Study in the morning, but seeing as I had a few unexpected guests I decided to pass this week and tend to the needs of my guests. My friend (and neighbor) came by to pick me and Zoe up for Bible Study at about 9:00 am. I explained to her all that was going on and she went on her way to Bible Study without us.

I had made plans prior to Wednesday to meet up with a friend at the mall on Thursday. At 11am I took Alyssa and Zoe to the mall with me to meet up with my friend BJ and her son. We had a good time playing in the play place, chatting, and then eating lunch together.

And the blessings begin…
  1. Once we returned home I was informed by my husband that the same friend was going to bring us to Bible Study that morning had stopped by with a phone number for us to call – a woman whose church provides food for families in need. A couple hours later that same friend brought us over canned goods and some pickles, salsa, and tomadoes that she canned herself!
  2. An hour later, a woman from my church stopped by! She had heard about our little situation at Bible Study that morning. She provided us with some grocery money and 4 loaves of bread!
  3. At the same time that woman arrived, my friend Anna arrived with her daughter. They were coming over just to hang out and have a snack with us. Anna lives just a few blocks from us so we tend to be at each others homes often. Anna brought with her a gift from someone I had taken photos for, guess what it was? A gift card for the grocery store.
  4. Anna also brought over a snack for everyone! She brought grapes and a container full of delicious mint brownies that she had made.
  5. Another friend from church stops by to return a swing we loaned her for her baby boy. She offers to help me figure out some frugal and healthy ways to cook for this many people and she even went home and wrote out a list of meals and e-mailed them to me.
  6. At about 5pm a woman from the church that provides food for families in need came over and brought us 3 boxes full of food and essential items.
  7. About an hour after that my in-laws neighbor, who has recently has become one of my own freinds, stopped by with a box full of fresh garden vegetables and a gift card for the grocery store!
Honestly, words cannot express how grateful we are to every single one of you who showed up here yesterday. Thank you SO much for your help. On Wednesday, even though I knew the Lord was in complete control, I was still in tears because I was so ovewhelmed with worries and concerns that we would not be able to feed everyone this month. I knew God would provide for us in some way, I just never expected Him to do so much for us in just one day. To everyone who has prayed for us and helped provide…

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!

Your prayers and generocity has provided us with enough to get through an entire month, maybe even longer if we can learn how to stretch the dollars even more.

I read something here that encouraged me when I was worried about how this was all going to turn out and I wanted to share it:

The Lord reveals to us through His Word, the Bible, that we can be of good “cheer,” that we can

1) rejoice in our problems because God will use them to our benefit. “Knowing that tribulation produces perseverance; and perseverance, character; and character, hope” (Romans 5:3-4);

2) see our “worries” as an opportunity to practice Proverbs 3:5-6, “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths”;

3) counteract our anger by obeying Ephesians 4:32, “And be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God in Christ forgave you”; and

4) deal with any sinful feelings by believing and acting upon the truth of 1 John 1:9, “If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”


All of our problems can be dealt with through simple faith in God’s Word.

What wonderful encouragement those verses are. This unexpected trial can and will be a blessing to both our family and theirs. After talking with my best friend Amanda over the phone yesterday and sharing all the blessings we’d received throughout the day she said, “Well, God sure must want them to be there!”

I believe she’s absolutely right.

2 Responses to “Rejoicing in God’s Provision!”

  1. Lori of I'm no super Mom September 11, 2009 at 4:53 pm #

    God is good all the time, and all the time God is good! I am so excited to see how he has blessed your family!

  2. Tammie September 12, 2009 at 2:11 pm #

    i just sat here and wept as i read your post, rejoicing in God's amazing providence. He is so good!

    God bless you, dear sister in Jesus.

Leave a Reply

