Saving Money

12 Aug

Ever since we returned from California in late June I have been slacking on my endevours to save money. I just spent the last 20 minutes or so going over a few of my favorite Money-Saving blogs and now I think I am motivated to get back into it. With Gage working part-time and me being a stay-at-home Mom we obviously are on an extremely tight budget and every penny we can save helps us tremendously!

One little highlight of last Sunday was when we made a short trip to Target and used 3 coupons, saving us about $5 on what would have been a $23 purchase. We ended up spending $18!
I had a $1.50 coupon for a Johnson & Johnson Baby Bath product and it included the hair detangeler. Zoe is getting to that age where I need to use detangeler sometimes so I was excited about this $1.50 off coupon for something that is rarely over $3.00. We got to the isle and we found that on the actual bottle of detangeler was a 2nd coupon for “$1.00 off NOW!” So guess what? We ended up using both coupons and walla! FREE detangeler. 🙂 The third coupon we had was a $3 off coupon for Cruisers diapers that were already on sale at Target for about $19.
Coupons are indeed marvelous things!
3 Responses to “Saving Money”

  1. Christina August 13, 2009 at 1:19 am #

    Woohoo! Good for you guys. I love those rare occations when I can work the sales and coupons to get free stuff.

  2. Shaina Herrmann August 15, 2009 at 7:12 pm #

    Yeah, most of my purchases are the off brands, but in this case there was no other option for detangeler.

  3. Shaina Herrmann August 15, 2009 at 7:14 pm #

    And no off-brand detangeler would have beat the FREE Johnson & Johnson detangeler… haha. You have to use some common sense when shopping.

Leave a Reply

