Created to be His Help Meet – Ch. 4: Thanksgiving Produces Joy

11 Feb

Live with thanksgiving, forgiveness, and joy, and enjoy all your moments as if they were your last.

This week my husband and I both had our struggles with stress and at least in my case, it had to do entirely with my lack of joy and thanksgiving. If my husband does something differently than I think it should be done, I only partially respond rightly – I do not say anything demeaning, because I know that it is better for him to do it his way, even if the end result is not so good. However, I am such a perfectionist that if something is not done in the way I think it should be done, I become very bitter and I find myself thinking, “I wish he would just ____” in a number of different situations.

In this chapter, Debi says, “As a general rule, my husband just doesn’t take the trash out. I could be annoyed, or I could learn to enjoy taking the trash out. ” This is not to say my husband never takes the trash out, but it serves as an example of a way I can be more joyful in my home. I need to adapt to my husband’s way of doing things and not force my own way on him. It is my job to help him and be thankful for all the things he lovingly helps me with. It is not my job to constantly request his help or have a bitter attitude when he does not do things the way that I want them done. No good can come from this type of attitude. Even if I have good reason to be offended, it is not my job to change my husband. It is my job to help him. I must begin to view myself as the woman God gave to this man. I am a helper, a gift, a playmate, a friend, a lover; everything I do should benefit my husband, because that is the only way God can be glorified through my marriage.

“And let them sacrifice the sacrifices of thanksgiving, and declare his works with rejoicing.” Psalm 107:22

“But I will sacrifice unto thee with the voice of thanksgiving; I will pay that that I have vowed. Salvation is of the LORD. – Jonah 2:9 (KJV)

A few goals for this week…

1) For my husband and I: Be heirs together in the grace of life, not partners in stress and bitterness.
2) Continue to enjoy each other every day. Laugh, love, play, share. Just have fun.
3) Thank God for every good thing he has provided me with in my life.
4) Be THANKFUL for everything my amazing husband does.

“When a weak sister fulfills her divine purpose of being a true help meet, it bring great glory and joy to God.”

Continue onto the next chapter: The Gift of Wisdom

One Response to “Created to be His Help Meet – Ch. 4: Thanksgiving Produces Joy”

  1. Christina February 11, 2009 at 4:00 am #

    I was going to post this morning, but my husband called, and we talked and talked and talked. It was really good. I figured it was better to be working on my relationship with him than writing about it. ; )I did read the chapter (it encouraged me), and I’ll do what I can to post tomorrow.Your post encouraged me too.

Leave a Reply

