Created to be his Help Meet – Ch. 3 : A Thankful Spirit

3 Feb

Chapter 3: A Thankful Spirit — A wise woman sets a joyful mood in her home. Through laughter, music, and happy times, she creates a positive attitude in her children. She knows that a lighthearted home relieves her husband of stress.

My goals this week:

1) Be a better help to my husband.
2) Practice having a merry and thankful heart.
3) Learn to be more content with Sioux Falls.
4) Set a joyful mood in my home!

“Discontentment is not a matter of circumstances, it is a state of the soul.” – Debi Pearl

I learned when I was very young that no good can come from discontentment. I’m very much against the word, “bored” and I will *very* rarely choose to use the word. I even wrote a blog post about it last year. God has blessed us with so much more than we deserve and every second of this life should be spent glorifying Him and thanking Him for all He has blessed us with. Having a thankful spirit leads us to contentment with our every day lives and the result is a joyful and stress free home! We should make good use of the short amount of time we have here on this earth. As a wife I want to do all I can to help my husband and remain thankful for all the work he does. Every day I find myself wondering how he does it all. He works incredibly hard and he is still the most amazing husband I’ve ever known. I don’t deserve a husband like him – he treats me better than any other person I’ve met in my lifetime.

Philippians 4:11 -“…. for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content.”

This chapter actually helped bring up a problem that I have been having with discontentment. It doesn’t really have anything to do with my husband though – I am thankful for him and what he does every single day. My problem has to do with where we are currently living.

We moved here two and a half years ago from San Diego, CA – I never had any intentions of ever leaving San Diego. I loved it there, it was a place that many people can only dream about living in and I grew up there, it was all I ever knew. We had amazing weather (WARMTH!!!) the mountains nearby, the beach was right there, there was always something to do – somewhere to go, friends to see, amusement parks, etc. The greatest thing of all though was my family. Nearly everyone in my family was an hour or less away from me. Now I am in a state that I never knew people actually lived in. I’m far away from my friends & family and I really really really miss the ocean. Now I’m in a place that people don’t want to visit because its, “too cold” – it’s cold for 6 months out of the year, and all this city is surrounded by is farms. Miles and miles of flat land, and no ocean… it’s the complete opposite of what I knew in San Diego.

With that said, there are so many benefits to living here that I cannot even list them all. This is an incredible place to live for a multitude of reasons, and obviously – since we are here – it is God’s will for us that we remain here for the time being. I need to learn to find beauty in the flat farm lands, I need to learn to enjoy the small festivals that go on during the summer, I need to be grateful for the time that it IS warm here in Sioux Falls, and I need to learn to just be content here.

It’s difficult when I miss CA so much to be totally content with living here in South Dakota. It is something I really need to work on. I think maybe I’ll compile a list (you know how I love lists!) of all the wonderful things about Sioux Falls. I don’t think I’ll ever stop missing California but my attitude towards Sioux Falls and the state of South Dakota could definitely improve.

More participants in this Book Study:

Christina @ A Homemaker’s Journal
Tammie @ Book of Rememberance

Continue onto the next chapter: Thanksgiving Produces Joy!

.

2 Responses to “Created to be his Help Meet – Ch. 3 : A Thankful Spirit”

  1. Tammie February 4, 2009 at 3:57 am #

    thank you for being so honest. i am praying for you.♥

  2. Christina February 4, 2009 at 5:35 am #

    Making a change in location can be SO hard. I absolutely hated living here at first and had quite a pity party. As time goes on, I appreciate it more and more. I know that God will help you be thankful were He has placed you if you really want to be (and I think you do…). Isn’t is good that He is there for us?I don’t like the word bored either. In fact, when I was six or seven I adopted this quotation from Johana Spiri’s Heidi: “As for Heidi, she was never bored.” I decided I was going to be like that. ; )

Leave a Reply

