Psalm 16:8

2 Dec

“I have set the LORD always before me: because He is at my right hand, I shall not be moved” (Psalm 16:8)

No matter what the circumstances are in my life, no matter how much terror and fear I may have of happenings in the world and in my day to day life, I can be certain of one thing: I have set the Lord always before me. No human can take away the grace that God has shown me. He has taken a rotten sinner like me and saved me from an unimaginable terror. I have been saved! It is when I remember this that all of my worldly fears begin to fade away and the only fear that I have is of God.

How amazing is it that we can have the God of the universe at standing at our right hand? He is always there, and he is always available to us, these tiny little seemingly unimportant beings when compared to all the complexities of the Universe, He has taken each of us into account and we will all be held accountable one day for how we glorified and exemplified Him. He is so powerful and majestic, so loving and so just. I can’t imagine a greater plan than the plan God has created for all of humanity.

I love to take time and just think with an eternal perspective. God has always been, he is outside of time. The idea is impossible for us to understand because we (and everything we know here in the universe) has had a beginning and will ultimately have an end.

I am a woman. I’m a wife, mother, daughter, daughter-in-law, sister, step-sister, sister-in-law, niece, granddaughter, and even a great-granddaughter. The most important title I could ever hope to live up to is child of God. I pray that I uphold this title throughout my entire life, all the way up until the end. Because then, there is no end! Because I have been saved through faith by God’s grace, my death will be the beginning of an eternal life. Just the thought of what will happen the moment I take my last breath here on earth is… unfathomable.

Can anything compare to this great love that God has shown? Absolutely not. That is why I will never be moved, no matter what the cost.

.

2 Responses to “Psalm 16:8”

  1. Tammie December 2, 2008 at 9:06 pm #

    thank you so much.

  2. jcdisciple December 3, 2008 at 3:00 am #

    Spoken from the heart of a true kindred spirit, sister. I am with you all the way. In fact I often have to force myself to get my head out of the clouds so I can focus on the here and now.God bless you and I hope your baby is doing better.

Leave a Reply

