My History with Christ

14 Nov

  • At what age did you recognize you were in need of a Savior?

I attended church my entire life and I believe I first understood that I was in fact a sinner and I needed a savior when I was around 8 years old. However, I didn’t fully devote my life to him until a long time after that. I honestly don’t know when I officially became saved but I think it may have been at around age 18. That is when I fully understood my need for Jesus and my heart and mind began to be transformed. I wanted nothing else than to honor the Lord with my life.

  • Who shared the Gospel with you (you don’t have to share names unless you just want to)?

Initially, my parents and Sunday school teachers while growing up. I always knew I was a sinner (well after around age 8) and my life was spent trying to please God, but I think it was for the wrong reasons until I was in my late teens. After that I don’t think I really had it explained to me in such a pure form as The Way of the Master uses. Their ministry has heavily influenced my life by their preaching of the Gospel.

  • What was your first reaction when heard the Gospel for the first time?

I cannot clearly remember my reaction to hearing the Gospel for the first time, so I will explain my reaction to hearing it now. I am absolutely mind-blown at the idea that the God of the universe would love his creation so much that he would send his son to take our punishment (that we brought upon ourselves!). How incredible is it that we have this wonderful, beautiful and merciful God that is willing to forgive us of our sins if we just repent and trust in Him?! We deserve nothing and yet he died for us. It is absolutely phenomenal.

  • How long did it take you to understand Jesus is the only Savior, repent and trust Him with your life?

Years. Only recently have I understood the importance of repentance and what true repentance is.

  • How often do you share the Gospel with others?

Honestly, I hardly ever leave my own house and when I do it is to go to the grocery store or church. I guess I should start finding ways to talk to people at the grocery store, eh? 🙂 This is mainly why I have a blog. So that I can proclaim to truth to anyone who reads this.

  • What plans do you have to become more committed to sharing salvation in Christ with others?

Right now I am hoping that God provides me with the courage to preach the gospel to all of my unsaved family members. Unfortunately, many of them are big on debating, which I am not. I feel hugely burdened with the fact that I may not be able to stay on the right track and on topic if trying to preach the gospel to them.

  • What scares you the most about sharing the Gospel and what Scriptures have helped you overcome those fears?

Basically my biggest fears are two things. 1) Not being able to preach the Gospel as a result of their 100 off topic questions or non-willingness to admit they have sinned against God. 2) The aftermath. I believe these two fears are the same fears that many people struggle with.

No matter what a person says, no matter how many random questions they bring up, we must stay focused on the heart of the matter: that we are all sinners and need a Savior. But when the person is not a stranger, such as a family member – it becomes more difficult to just ignore their questions and continue on with the Law to show they they’ve sinned. I’m afraid I won’t get to the sharing of the Gospel part. And then if I do share the gospel, what will they think of me afterwards? Will they give me the silent treatment?

I recently shared the Gospel with my Grandmother and she hasn’t spoken to me since (and that was about 2 months ago). I know that even if she never speaks to me again it was well worth it, but I’m afraid of doing that with *everyone* I know that is not saved. I fear that no one will ever want to even be near me again!

To overcome these fears I need to understand that God is in control and there is nothing that happens that is not according to His plan. I seriously have nothing to worry about. No man can harm me because I have the Holy Spirit within me. I must keep this in mind when sharing the Gospel. It is not up to me to change a person’s heart – that is entirely God. All I can do is proclaim that His word IS truth and we have all sinned and we all fall short of God’s glory. We need Jesus Christ if we want any hope for life after death.

Christmas is FOR Jesus

This is exactly why we must keep Jesus Christ at the center of all of our Christmas celebrations that are coming up. He IS the reason for the season (forgive my rhyming cheesiness). Christmas is celebrated to honor the birth of the one person that was able to forgive an entire world’s worth of souls (past, present, and future)! All he asks is that we TRUST him and believe in Him. Only through this will true repentance occur, and we will turn from our sins and live as a light in this world of darkness.

.

6 Responses to “My History with Christ”

  1. Tammie November 14, 2008 at 3:05 pm #

    thank you for sharing this.you are a blessing and encouragement to me.

  2. JesusRulzMe November 14, 2008 at 3:32 pm #

    WOW! This is fabulous sister Shaina!Thank you so much for sharing. And yes, evangelize at the grocery store or wherever you are (even in the parking lot). I do! I actually only purchase purses that are conducive to carrying tracts. I hand them out at the store, to the clerks at check out (I also visit with them too), workers taking breaks outside, drive-thru windows…you name it…if you’re a live and the Holy Spirit leads me….look out, ’cause here I come!Wanna know the crazy part? I’m SCARED every single time! But not once have I regretted it! Oh, and I also know about the whole family thing. I’ve witnessed to my fam too and all of them (aunts, uncles, cousins, siblings parents, etc) treated me like the plague my whole life….but you know what? About 4 years ago, I got to lead my mom to Christ! How cool is that?!So press on sister and consider all things of this world as rubbish and claim to only know one thing – Christ crucified!Love you!Sunny

  3. Kelly November 15, 2008 at 4:56 am #

    I feel it is unfortunate that your grandmother will not speak to you because of that.My third year in college, I was a resident adviser. A day or two before the end of the school year, one of my residents asked if he could talk with me. I of course said yes, not knowing exactly what he needed. We talked for close to 2 hours. He came to preach the gospel to me. He had pamphlets of sorts and asked me questions about how I live my life, what I think about sin, etc. I asked questions about his faith, he answered. It was a very mature and respectful conversation. It was serious, but when he was talking about earthly possessions and I asked if it was looked down upon that I cared about what type of car I drove, he laughed. 🙂 He was telling me about how everything we do in life should be to please the Lord. As you can probably tell, I paid attention!However, toward the end of our conversation, when he asked me to recite a scripture and accept Jesus into my life I told him that, while I respected his views and him coming to speak with me, it wasn’t for me. He respected me, left the room, and that was that. We still talk. I actually ran in to him on campus a month or so ago. I have no ill feelings toward him for what he did. I would never stop talking to someone because of their beliefs, unless they continued to harass me about it or tried to make it seem that they were better than me. The issue I have is when people try to preach to complete strangers that don’t want to hear what they have to say. I know that it is part of Christianity to spread the word of God to those who are not ‘saved,’ but I feel everyone should respect everyone else. If someone rejects you (not you personally of course, but all people who try to preach to others), just realize you have made an attempt and that person has every right to not listen, etc. I am willing to listen to my friends about things that are important to me. But, honestly, if someone came up to me at Starbucks and started preaching to me about Jesus I would not be happy! 🙂

  4. The little old mom who lived in a shoe November 17, 2008 at 3:40 pm #

    Oh I can so relate. My whole family (at least the ones I grew up with) thinks I’m brainwashed. My mom does the, “I’m so impressed with how you live your faith…” then “You shouldn’t really try to convert people.” Or something like that. It is so hard. I think part of the reason this whole election thing is bugging me so bad is because our differences (with my family) will really stand out now and it’s obvious that I’m in the minority. I have to keep asking myself, “Would this be pleasing to God or pleasing to man?” God wins. Okay, I’m still guilty of pleasing man instead of God. I’m a recovering People-Pleaser! Like you say, only God can change hearts. All you can do is act on your faith. Persevere! Pray. Pray. Pray. I’m sorry that your grandma isn’t talking to you. My sister, hurt that I would think she is going to Hell, swore at me two Novembers ago and was cold throughout the Christmas Season. Though she still doesn’t agree with me, I am closer to her than I am to anyone else in my “growing up” family. I don’t think I’ll ever be close with my mom again. We used to be best friends.Love,Jenny

  5. Kelly November 18, 2008 at 11:22 pm #

    You said, “Unfortunately, many of them are big on debating, which I am not. I feel hugely burdened with the fact that I may not be able to stay on the right track and on topic…”I think this dilemma applies to anyone who is trying to share information on ANY topic to someone who holds a different belief or view. People just have to realize that most people are very set in their ways. If someone came to you to share information about there not being a God, or about why they believe in a different god, you would certainly want to debate and question them. Of course, I don’t know your relatives and I don’t know if their form of “debating” is actually more of “arguing.” I know you, Shaina, and I know how kind you are and willing to listen to everyone. I would hope that people would not stop talking to you because of the information you share. Even if someone I know told me they were worried about me going to hell, I wouldn’t hold it against them. If it was the center of our conversation every time we saw each other I might get a little irritated! 🙂

  6. Ernestine November 20, 2008 at 2:42 pm #

    Family and neighbors are the hardest because you will see them again and have to deal with the discomfort, but your motives are pure and loving, and if they ever come to Christ, they will always be grateful that you loved them enough share salvation with them.

Leave a Reply

