Google Calendars

10 Nov

I’m a big fan of Calendars because I’m at home every day and I lose track of what day it is all the time. I’m also a big planner and its hard to plan if I don’t have a calendar right in front of me. I’m a huge fan of daily agendas! I am a very forgetful person and having lists and plans is something I must have.

In addition to hanging 3 calendars in our home (one in our bedroom, one in our living room, and one in the kitchen), I use my Microsoft Outlook calendar as my main calendar because I see it when I open my e-mail and I can type everything in rather than having to hand write it all out, I can use different colors, repeat items automatically, etc.

Last week I discovered the Google Calendars. At first I was not sure of it because I’m so used to my Outlook calendar, but I’ve come to love these calendars for a few reasons. You can:

  • View multiple calendars at one time (even calendars that belong to your friends & family!)
  • Turn on and off specific calendars.
  • Have your daily agenda e-mailed to you.
  • Share your calendars with friends with friends and family! This way Gage and I always knows what the plan is for the day and we can access it from the internet, we don’t need to be at home on our own computer to view it.
  • Post your weekly menu plans for your family to see!

The image on the right is an example of the Dinner Calendar turned off. I

currently have the following calendars (and Gage and I share all of them): Gage’s Calendar, Shaina’s Calendar, Special Days Calendar (for birthdays & anniversaries, holidays, etc) , Dinner calendar (since we have a 6 week menu plan it only took me about 5 minutes to put this together), and our Family Calendar that is specifically for everything our family does together (church, family get-togethers, vacations, etc). Each calendar has its own color so that when you see “Bible Study” on Thursday morning in purple, you can know it is my study and not Gage’s.

There are also special calendars you can add to your google calendar such as: a to-do list, weather forecasts, national holidays, and more.

I am so grateful for this! Gage has two jobs and he goes to school full time so his schedule is all over the place, this has helped me keep track of what he is doing each day so I can plan my days around his schedule. It’s wonderful!! If you are like me and need to plan everything to get anything done, this is definitely something to check out. 🙂

.

2 Responses to “Google Calendars”

  1. Christina November 10, 2008 at 11:54 pm #

    Wow, what a wonderful idea! I love it. ; ) I’ll have to check it out.By the way, I love th quotation you included in your previous post. I have been mulling it over today.

  2. JesusRulzMe November 13, 2008 at 5:04 pm #

    Hey sweet sister girl!Guess what?I have a bloggy award for you!Please stop by my place and pick it up. Here’s the link:< HREF="http://jesusrulzme.blogspot.com/2008/11/im-overflowing-and-i-want-to-share.html" REL="nofollow">I’m Overflowing and I Want To Share<>Bless you precious sister,Sunny

Leave a Reply

