A Simple Home

10 Nov

Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful.”
– William Morris (British craftsman, designer and poet, 1834-1896)

I’ve been trying to simplify lately. I’ve been organizing just about everything in sight, re-arranging things, finding new ways to do things, ways to use what I already have rather than buying new stuff, ridding my home of the items that serve no purpose like old magazines and items that were given to us that I saved just because…they were given to us. It always amazes me how much stuff we Americans have. Do we really need all of those kitchen appliances? 500 channels on TV? 5 radios in the household? Do I really need 25 plastic containers to store leftovers in?

That’s my thought for today. I’ve been thinking a lot about my home lately. I was unable to go to church this morning because my daughter is sick. So I have been home all day taking care of her. Now I’m working on a project for a friend, which led me to come across that quote 🙂

3 Responses to “A Simple Home”

  1. Kelly November 10, 2008 at 3:11 am #

    I need to abide by that quote. I have SO many things in my house/room that serve absolutely no purpose and most definitely don’t make my house beautiful. Quite the opposite!

  2. MRS MJW November 10, 2008 at 3:50 am #

    I really like that quote.

  3. Tammie November 10, 2008 at 5:09 am #

    excellent quote. i’ll be thinking on that one this week.

Leave a Reply

