Bloggin’ Plans and 6 Week Menu Plan!

29 Oct

I have all these plans for my blog but I haven’t been doing a good job of keeping up with them! I have many recipes that I’d like to share, thoughts on Biblical womanhood and marriage, organizing tips and other ideas to make the home a place that you want to be. I’ve decided I need a set plan. I work well with set plans and schedules. Without a schedule, I have such a hard time getting everything done. Monday came and went and I still haven’t figured out our menu plan. How do you keep up with your daily tasks, and how do you keep up with your blogs?

As far as our menu planning goes – I came across a woman who plans her menus in 12 week time periods and I love the idea! So, to start, I’ve decided to do a 6 week plan and only go shopping every 3 weeks, and maybe I can even stretch it out to a month. This will help with grocery shopping planning and will be less stressful because I won’t be trying to figure out our menu on a weekly basis and examining what we have and what we don’t have and what meals I can make with what we do have. Of course we’ll have to go one other time in there for fruits, veggies, bread, and milk but that’s it. The goal is $250 a month on all groceries and $50 a month on non-food items. I’m finding that by going grocery shopping every 2 weeks I end up spending more than I want to because I forget what I have at home and I re-buy items. I think if I change it to 3 or 4 weeks then we’ll literally be out of food and then I won’t end up buying items that I have at home because there will be no food left at home ;o)

I’m way too easily amused. Just the thought of stretching our food until we have no more is exciting to me! hehehe

3 Responses to “Bloggin’ Plans and 6 Week Menu Plan!”

  1. Lori of I'm no super Mom October 29, 2008 at 8:14 pm #

    We do our shopping once a month with the occasional trip to grab bread, milk,and fresh fruits and veggies. I love the direction you want to go with your blog!

  2. Dustybug October 29, 2008 at 8:16 pm #

    Good luck! I wish I could plan our meals out that far in advance, but the hubby is too fickle and he would end up not wanting something that I had planned. lol. I go shopping every week, but I’m planning on trying to start going every two weeks, because when I do that, I end up saving money with the way I coupon and line it up with sales, etc. $250 a month? Wow, you’ll have to teach me something. We spend about $130 a week(including toiletries, diapers, cleaning supplies, etc.).

  3. The little old mom who lived in a shoe November 5, 2008 at 5:48 pm #

    I skimmed through some of your other posts and we are scarily alike. I’m so sorry! 🙂 Have you ever looked into Flylady.net? She sends out reminders about things, too. She writes about procrastination, perfectionism, meal planning, budgeting… etc. I am going to try out those Christmas sites you listed on one of your posts. Looks like something right up my alley.

Leave a Reply

