Is there a point?

14 Sep
Pro 26:22 What dainty morsels rumors are-but they sink deep into one’s heart.

It saddens me to say that a lot of what shapes our culture today is the rumors and lies we all have a part in without even knowing it. I mean think about it. There are a lot of words that you hear each day that influence the way you think about things. We are influenced by our friends, family, new people we meet, the news, movies, TV, radio, and many others.

“Did you hear about ___?” , “This candidate said _____, therefore ____”. You hear it, you don’t really think about what it means or if its true and before you know it, you believe what you heard. And I’m talking about everything from a person’s favorite color to their views on abortion to why things work to what makes the world go round’. This is something I do every day but I’ve been doing more and more to make sure that it doesn’t happen. No matter what the circumstance, I always want to make sure it is true before I go and continue to spread the information.

My issue today is Democrats and Republicans. They are so hateful towards each other. They are disrespectful, sarcastic, and rude and no one seems to mind. Politics is one of my absolute least favorite subjects because it seems like no matter what, when a discussion of politics comes up someone is bound to start sinning. Facts go out the door and it turns into gossip, slander, and rumors. It is very rare that I hear someone talking about why they think their candidate is best, they focus more on why the other candidate is worse. (And don’t get me wrong, I am completely at fault here too!) I think there is way too much emphasis on bringing the other candidate down. We should be focusing on why our candidate is worth voting for. No matter what the circumstances may be, we should never waste our time thinking of ways to hurt each other.

I just received an e-mail from a family member whose absolute favorite pastime is gossiping and criticizing everything and everybody. This email was chock full of false information on John McCain and trying to get people to believe things like Barak Obama is a Christian and John McCain is not, blah blah blah. I can assure you that Barak Obama has just as many faults as John McCain. If I really wanted to, I could come up with a list of things to ridicule and slander him as well. My question is, what is the point? Why do people feel the need to ridicule and pass totally false accusations of people? This is why I don’t like politics. They lie or get as close to lying as they can, they treat each other poorly, and it seriously makes them look like fools. I wish people and politicians could at least be honest with each other instead of having to make things up.

Granted the person who sent me the email is not a Christian but even so, what good can ever come from gossip? Our culture literally bathes in it and honestly I believe a lot of the problems we have today are a result of rumors and gossip.

So why am I writing this blog? I just want to get the message out there asking people to think before they speak.

Pro 10:19 Don’t talk too much, for it fosters sin. He who holds his tongue is wise.

Leave a Reply

