Striving for Perfection

11 Sep

Gal 5:22 But when the Holy Spirit controls our lives, he will produce this kind of fruit in us: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness,
Gal 5:23 gentleness, and self-control. Here there is no conflict with the law.

I’m struggling with my emotions and feelings this week. I think it is a combination of stress from having a huge to-do list and the change in weather. I have been struggling with wanting to be the perfect wife, the perfect mother, the perfect friend, the perfect sister, the perfect daughter…. and of course there is no such thing as the perfect person, but that is one thing I am really struggling with.

I want to know everything there is to know about being a wife and being a mother. I have found myself reading about wives in the Bible, reading about wives in books, reading blogs written by wives (and mothers) like me, watching the way other wives and mothers act around their husbands and children, all so I can gain the proper knowledge of what it means to be wife and a mother. My problem is that I want to do everything now. I am without a doubt completely lacking patience.

That is what I need to pray about this week and in the coming months, and years…

Proverbs 31 speaks of a virtuous and capable wife and these few verses really stick out to me.

Pro 31:25
Strength and dignity are her clothing,
and she laughs at the time to come.

Pro 31:26
She opens her mouth with wisdom,
and the teaching of kindness is on her tongue.

Pro 31:27
She looks well to the ways of her household
and does not eat the bread of idleness.

These verses describe everything I have been trying to be, which is a good thing, because it is Biblical and true but if I am lacking in any of these areas it is not the end of the world, it is nothing to become depressed about. It should actually encourage me to work harder. The Lord will provide me with the knowledge and the wisdom that I need when I actually need it. It will all come through time and experience. God does everything in His own time. The Holy Spirit provides us with the discernment that we need to learn what is right and wrong. Wisdom, kindness, strength and dignity come with time and effort.

Instead of worrying so much about whether or not I’ll ever be a good enough wife and mother, I should be focusing on what I’m doing now and how I am glorifying the Lord with my life. I need to look forward (with a smile) to what is to come in the future and not dwell on the past (that is something I tend to do a LOT!). I can’t allow myself to become overwhelmed and stressed over such trivial things such as a to-do list. In 80 or so years, many of the things on my lists are not going to matter. All that does matter is that God is glorified through all that I do.


One Response to “Striving for Perfection”

  1. Gage Herrmann September 11, 2008 at 3:29 am #

    You are RIGHT ON my lovely wife! And, so Biblical. I love you very much. Keep up the great work; I like reading it.

Leave a Reply

