Beth Moore

11 Sep

Spiritual discernment and doctrinal truth is very important to me. Everything I do, think, say, and believe should first be brought to Christ. I want nothing more than to see the world through the eyes of Christ. As I said in my previous post, it will take time to obtain godly wisdom and of course we’ll never be able to fully see all that God can see, but it is SO important to allow the Holy Spirit to do what He came to do.

I don’t know a lot about Beth Moore yet but I do know women who absolutely ADORE her. I actually have a friend who called Beth Moore her spiritual idol, she actually said she idolizes the woman. I don’t know but in my mind a HUGE red flag goes up when someone says something like that. I believe that idolizing anyone for any reason whatsoever is blasphemy, it goes directly against the law of the Bible. Maybe she just used the word in the wrong context, but maybe not. Regardless, I have heard from many women that they don’t just love her studies, they love HER. Yet again, I have another red flag going up in my head.

I have not heard good things about Beth Moore’s doctrine on a deeper level but in every other aspect everyone adores her and what she teaches. I looked at her statement of faith on her website and yes, it is all absolutely in line with the Bible. There are many issues that are not discussed though that are pretty important. One in particular is her teaching over men. She teaches over men in her church and in her ministries and despite any excuses she has come up with, even if she never intended for it to be that way, it is is definitely something the Bible very plainly states in 1 Timothy 2:12 that we’re not supposed to do. Women are not to teach or be in authority over men. These are not my words but the words of Bible.

Other than those things, I honestly don’t know what to think yet because I have not done one of her studies. I have only heard from people who have done her studies. I would love to find out that she does care about giving accurate Biblical information to her readers, but until I know that, I don’t know if I can really say I’m a fan.

My church has a Beth Moore study and as far as theology goes, I believe my church is very theologically sound. Therefore, the Beth Moore studies must not be as bad as some people make them out to be. I also don’t believe they are as brilliant as other people seem to think they are though. Who knows, maybe one day I’ll try one the studies in addition to an actual Bible study. I’m more into learning about the Bible in a literal and historical way rather than a topical and life applicable way.

We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

