Truth-Seeking

23 Aug

(This post in a way makes me seem angry and bitter but there really are no other words to describe ignorance and as prideful as it seems to write about ignorance in the world today, I fully believe it IS possible to be ignorant of truth and I use the word in a different way that our society uses it.)

Atheists, Barack Obama, Pro-Choicers, Vaccines, the GREEN movement, the Emergent Church, Anti-Homeschoolers, Anti-Homemakers, Feminists…. these are people and things that have really been bothering me lately. I shouldn’t let it bother me but I can’t seem to help it. I have my beliefs and I have reasons for those beliefs, but people are not tolerant. Christians are so discriminated against. People say that there is no right or wrong, no absolutes, no truth, and no way really know anything. Yet at the same time they are very animate about what they believe to be right. It’s a strange concept coming from a society that has an abundance of knowledge available to them. They have the opportunity to learn anything they want but most choose to live in denial (of many things, not just Christianity) because a) they don’t care one way or the other, b) they don’t want to cause trouble so they go with the flow, or c) they are so full of pride they are not open to even thinking they could be wrong. I believe we ALL need to at least acknowledge that there is a right and a wrong.

People these days are more judgmental and ignorant (lacking knowledge of the truth) than ever before. Everyone is politically correct, misinformed, and very closed-minded. No one cares to do any truth seeking anymore, they just go with the flow and criticize anyone who seeks truth. So many people don’t even know why they believe things, and if they do know why they haven’t taken the time to find out if what they believe is true or not. I’m a truth-seeker. I don’t want to go with the flow, I don’t want to be ignorant, I don’t want to teach my children things that are not true.

One thing I don’t understand is why people can’t see how a society without God just doesn’t work. The more this country loses its morals, the worse everything gets. Not just for Christians, but for everyone.

I see and hear so many things that are just horrible and biblically incorrect and I start thinking that I should stop having children. I look at my daughter now and I can’t even imagine the horrors she is going to have to deal with growing up in a world like this. It just keeps getting worse as time goes on.

But then I remember that this is how it is supposed to be. These are the last days.

2 Timothy 3: 1-8
But understand this, that in the last days there will come times of difficulty. 2 For people will be lovers of self, lovers of money, proud, arrogant, abusive, disobedient to their parents, ungrateful, unholy, 3 heartless, unappeasable, slanderous, without self-control, brutal, not loving good, 4 treacherous, reckless, swollen with conceit, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God, 5 having the appearance of godliness, but denying its power. Avoid such people. 6 For among them are those who creep into households and capture weak women, burdened with sins and led astray by various passions, 7 always learning and never able to arrive at a knowledge of the truth.

Whenever my fear of the world starts to really get to me, my husband reminds me that we are here for a purpose and God has called us to have and to raise godly children that will grow up to defend what is right. I want to have more children, many in fact, but it does scare me that they will be living in a society that progressively gets worse and worse each year. This is where faith and trust come in. God is in control of everything that happens, and the things that are occuring today are exactly as He said they would be, and we just need to trust and know that truth is real, there is right and wrong, there are absolutes, and Jesus Christ is way, the truth, and the life.

Leave a Reply

