Constructive Criticism

12 Aug

Recently I have been reminded that many of us Christians have the tendency to sit on our high horses and look down on any who have ideas that differ from our own. I don’t mean differences in religion, but differences in doctrine – differences in our Biblical beliefs. There is so much tension between Christians on these issues. I do have many firm beliefs on doctrine and I will be willing to explain my beliefs to anyone who may ask. However, I don’t believe it is right for a person to dismiss any criticism whatsoever, because we are not all perfect, we are all sinners and we all fall short of God’s glory, and we just may be the ones in the wrong. It is very hard, especially for me, to ignore my pride and actually think that, “Yes, I could be wrong on this issue.” But we MUST be willing to take constructive criticism from people.

I would like to ask that anyone who reads my blog and sees that there is something that you believe may be unBiblical or if you believe I am sinning, please bring that up to me in a constructive and loving manner, the way the Bible instructs us to do (Galatians 6:1-2). This is a very scary thing for me to do because I know I have definitely been wrong many times but never would admit it.

Of course if it is something that is not a sin or something that just irks you, please refrain from trying to start a debate. Some things can actually be a sin for you where they are not sins for me (read Romans 14) and likewise. I actually am glad when a person points out things that I am doing wrong because then I can learn from it and change when it is appropriate for me to do so. Of course it is hard to hear that kind of stuff and it is very difficult not to get angry but the Bible says (Proverbs 14:29) we need to be slow to anger and we need to be understanding.

Seeing as this is MY blog, it is very much like a personal journal. I want to keep it that way and if I need to vent or if I believe a particular ministry is not Biblical, I am going to write about it because… I do have opinions and beliefs. I know not everyone will always agree with me but I try my best to stay Biblical and to be honest and hopefully others will agree with me or at least be understanding ;oD


-Shaina

Leave a Reply

