Joyce Meyer

11 Aug

I struggled for years with low self esteem, depression, loneliness, fear of people, etc. Our culture screams that in order to be somebody you have to know how to love yourself above anything else, because if you can’t love yourself, you can’t begin to love others. I have actually heard people say that and it is the furthest thing from the truth!

Don’t get me wrong. The Bible does tell us we should be joyful and of course we should never hate ourselves but our lives should not be focused on ourselves. It should ALL be about Jesus.

I struggle with this ‘me me me!’ mentality all the time. I’m not skinny enough, my hair isn’t pretty enough, my face isn’t clear enough, I don’t have enough stuff for my kitchen, I need ____ and I need ____. I think everyone in our culture deals with this and most people don’t even realize that they are doing it. But what we need to keep in mind is that we are no longer living for ourselves if we are Christians. We should be striving for Biblical attitudes towards life.

Joyce Meyer is the author of over 50 self-help books that apparently include Biblical principles.

I know people who love her and people who can’t stand her. She does have a lot of good to say. From the average Christian’s perspective, she is very inspiring and you can get a lot out of what she says. That is the problem though, I don’t know how much God can be glorified by anything that she says. On the surface, everything appears to be Biblical but if you take the time to really look at what she’s teaching, it doesn’t look so Biblical anymore. In fact in many cases she is not being true to what the Bible actually teaches.

So this brings up the question – is it wrong for us, as Christians, to want to be happy and motivated? Of course not. We do need to look at everything from a Biblical perspective though. The way Joyce Meyer puts things makes it seem like your happiness comes first and then Jesus. She writes paragraphs about how we have such a hard time getting motivated to do stuff and then she’ll add a verse in there, totally out of context, and say it relates to what she’s talking about. Very similar to what many pastors do these days – playing with the Bible as if it were a toy. Her books are ALL about enjoying YOURSELF, loving YOURSELF, and motivating YOURSELF.

The Bible points us to one person, Jesus Christ – not ourselves. In fact the Bible says the exact opposite. The Bible was not written to increase your self-esteem. You should never read your Bible with the intent of it just making you a better person. Many people do this. You read the Bible to help you grow in your knowledge of Jesus Christ and through that you develop a relationship with our God. When you become a Christian, your life is dedicated to God. You die to yourself.

Quotes by Joyce Meyer:

“One of my greatest desires is to see people thoroughly enjoy the quality of life Jesus died to give us—to actually be happy.” – Joyce Meyer

Ok WOW. Wow. Wow. Wow. No, Joyce. I am sorry but you are wrong. Very wrong in fact. Jesus did not die so that you or I would have a greater quality of life and so we could go to Heaven to be even happier with ourselves. Jesus died because we are horrible, rotten sinners and we deserve to go to Hell and if he did not die for us, we would be in big trouble. He saved us from our SINS that we commit on a daily basis.

“I have great news for you: God wants you to be happy today and every day. He really does. Jesus’ statement about life in John 10:10 is absolutely amazing to me: “The thief comes only in order to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they might have and enjoy life, and have it in abundance (to the full, till it overfl ows).”” – Joyce Meyer

Ok I cannot find the version that says “that they might have and enjoy life” Not even The Message adds that part. I just don’t know why people feel they need to add to the Bible. Besides, I believe that scripture is referring to the life we have in CHRIST for all eternity, not the life we have on Earth.

Did you know that if you don’t like yourself, you are never going to like anybody else, and you won’t be able to help your spouse like himself or herself? – Joyce Meyer

“Remember, He died so we could experience authentic happiness.” – Joyce Meyer

No, he died so that we could be saved by faith in his son. Of course that alone should make one jump for joy and weep tears of pure joy! But the happiness Joyce is talking about is not the same happiness that we receive through Christ. Her happiness is focused on what she can do for herself and how she can make other people happy.

Those are just a few quotes I found on a couple pages in one of her books… she has over 50 books. I’m sure I’ll be writing about her again in the future.

One Response to “Joyce Meyer”

  1. Gage Herrmann August 14, 2008 at 1:41 am #

    Thanks for researching this. People need to find out what the problem is with these man-centered gospels. I’ll be glad to read more of your posts on these kind of things!

Leave a Reply

